Blurred Edges

blurry sunrise

I headed towards the sunrise and the edges of the world blurred as night reluctantly gave way to day.

Black seeped from the heavens into the land and blues took its place: first royal, then navy, then the hint of sky warmed with a kiss of pink.  The swap was nearly instantaneous.  One moment it was night and the next it was day, the only evidence the lingering blur on the horizon where the two continued to fight it out.

I headed towards the sunrise and marveled at the beauty of the coming day.

Not a single blemish marked the infinite sky.  Swiveling around I could see from one edge of the world to the other, front to back, and nothing spoiled the slow progression of hues.  I couldn’t see where one color ended and the next began, but the sky behind me was not the same as that in front of me.  I wondered if I could turn around and chase down the darkness.  I wondered what adventures the light would bring.

I headed towards the sunrise and witnessed the birth of a day.

It was messy and perfect.  It was blurry and beautiful.  It was exactly how things should be.  The sky heralded the approaching sun through vibrant splashes of color.  The sky lamented the loss of night by clinging desperately to the darkness.  Where the two met, the world was discordant, fragile.  If the colors pulsed too brilliantly or if the darkness refused to budge, the two would crash together and the earth would cease to spin.

I headed towards the sunrise.

The blur called to me, and I answered, unafraid.  The light reached out for me from the edge of the world and I didn’t try to avoid its grasp.  The darkness tried to slow my progress, glue my forward momentum to the night, but my will, my desire to bask in the morning’s glow, was too strong.  Adventure beckoned.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Blurred Edges

  1. djmatticus November 27, 2013 at 3:07 pm Reply

    Reblogged this on thematticuskingdom and commented:

    While Hayley goes trekking around the Emerald Isle, I’ve stopped by her slice of the blogosphere to share one of my sunrise themed posts. Pop on over and check it out!

  2. princessdeloso November 27, 2013 at 5:17 pm Reply

    Very descriptive and quite beautiful.

    • djmatticus November 27, 2013 at 5:26 pm Reply

      Thanks, I’m glad you enjoyed it. 🙂

  3. stephrogers November 28, 2013 at 12:54 am Reply

    Beautiful as always. You really have a gift with words.

  4. beeseeker November 30, 2013 at 8:45 am Reply

    What an unusual piece; appealing,love the style.

  5. We Could Have … ? | beeseeker November 30, 2013 at 8:47 am Reply

    […] Blurred Edges (hayleyslilworld.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

746 Books

Confessions of a Book Buying Addict

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Education's Voice

All in a day's work...

Dianne Gray author

Australian Author

Considerings

Life in Silver Linings

Sparkle Jam Beauty

Beauty, Mind, Body #expressyourself

Linda's Book Bag

Loving books and reading

Jenny in Neverland

"If you don't imagine, nothing ever happens at all".

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

I didn't have my glasses on....

A trip through life with fingers crossed and eternal optimism.

Dancing in the rain!

I hope you dance....

Randomly Abstract

Tread softly because you tread on my dreams.

Staying Tuesday

"This is my life. And I want you to know that I am both happy and sad and I'm still trying to figure out how that could be."

The Frank Diary of Anna

What to do with all these ideas, memories, and opinions that compete for presence in my conscience?

My Endless Rants & Ramblings

Just a place where I can share myself and be myself.

Life of A Fallen Angel

Clarity through flight...

Born to Be

There is nothing greater outside of us than our one true love, BEING.

You've Been Hooked!

Observations from the trenches....

