There Is No Place For Violence In Football

Firstly, I would like to start by congratulating Wigan Athletic on reaching their first ever FA Cup final, after beating Millwall 2-0 at Wembley yesterday.
It’s an awful shame that a first in the clubs history is marred by violence and abusive behaviour.

Today’s back pages should show jubilant Wigan Athletic players and supporters but instead we have a collection of thugs causing havoc.

Following the violence 10 people were arrested, many supporters were left bloodied and a number of youngsters were in tears.
Millwall FC said it could not “allow the actions of a mindless minority” to undermine efforts made to lose the club’s reputation for hooliganism.
I feel sorry for the real Millwall fans because these hooligans who probably sat in the pub all day getting tanked up before the game just wanted a fight.
How many youngsters went to Wembley to witness a semi-final game ended up in tears. Many of them are probably too scared to attend a football match again.

The FA have said what happened is unacceptable and will launch an inquiry. I just hope they do something about this as it seems to be a running trend with a number of Millwall supporters, who are continuously ruining it for the real fans and the club.
Why they felt the need to fight amongst themselves is beyond me.

England will face Ireland in a friendly at Wembley next month. The security at Wembley will be re-evaluated and it also seems that many fans could lose out, as this game may NOT go on general sale following yesterday’s incidents.

Football is supposed to be a sport the whole family can enjoy. This violence has to stop, not only are English football fans getting a bad reputation it also does nothing for the beautiful game.

I’d love to hear your thoughts?

Until next time 😃

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “There Is No Place For Violence In Football

  1. James Clark April 14, 2013 at 1:58 pm Reply

    Yes what happened yesterday was bad but every football team has a firm. It doesn’t make things right but things like this go on weekly.
    European fans are far more violent.

    • hayleyslilworld April 14, 2013 at 2:21 pm Reply

      Fair point. It’s just sad when it affects others enjoyment of the game.

  2. djmatticus April 26, 2013 at 8:05 pm Reply

    Yes, no place for violence in football, I agree. We don’t really experience anything like that stateside, but the first professional game I ever attended was a friendly between Mexico and Argentina at the Los Angeles Sports Arena. This was long enough ago that they hadn’t figured out that they’d need to seat the fans in different sections of the stadium, so my family and I were seated in the middle of groups of both teams supporters while we were just their to watch the match. The first incident was the throwing of a full cup of soda… it escalated from there. I didn’t attend another soccer/football game for a very long time after that… so, I can definitely understand your concern that those children who witnessed the violence at Wembley would be turned off of going to another game any time soon.

    However, perhaps if we curtail the violence on the pitch it will go a ways to curtailing the violence in the stands. What kind of message is the FA sending by only suspending repeat offender Luis Suarez 10 games for biting another player? Watch kind of message is Liverpool sending my sticking up for their player and being “outraged” that the suspension is that long? Hopefully legal action will be taken against him for assault because something substantial needs to be done, don’t you think?

    • hayleyslilworld April 26, 2013 at 8:08 pm Reply

      I totally agree with you on both counts. As ever thanks for your comments and debate. Yup would be lovely to see Wigan win. X

  3. djmatticus April 26, 2013 at 8:06 pm Reply

    Oh, and congratulations to Wigan!! I hope they beat City (college) in the Final!! (Can’t stand the thought of City getting another trophy this year).

Leave a comment

The Dimension Between Worlds

Come and explore a world of imagination

wendyswonderlandgarden

My passion in life is gardening and specifically growing flowers from seed

Isabel Ashdown

'Ingenious' - The Sunday Times ... 'Thoroughly compelling' - Mail on Sunday ... 'Addictive' - The Sun

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Education's Voice

Mindfulness in the Classroom

Dianne Gray author

Australian Author

HayleyReviews10

There’s no such thing as too many books.

Linda's Book Bag

Loving books and reading

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

I didn't have my glasses on....

A trip through life with fingers crossed and eternal optimism.

Dancing in the rain!

I hope you dance....

Staying Tuesday

"This is my life. And I want you to know that I am both happy and sad and I'm still trying to figure out how that could be."

The Frank Diary of Anna

What to do with all these ideas, memories, and opinions that compete for prescence in my conscience?

My Endless Rants & Ramblings

Just a place where I can share myself and be myself.

Born to Be

There is nothing greater outside of us than our one true love, BEING.

You've Been Hooked!

Observations from the trenches....

Forever 21

A broken heart is open to receive...