Appreciating The Simple Things…

Well hello, I can hardly believe that I haven’t blogged at all in February.
I must say February is one of my favourite months of the year, it’s a short month and it’s the month I was born.

On the 23rd February I shall turn 29 taking me into the final year of my 20s. Having read a wonderfully uplifting book from Miranda Dickinson I intend to make the most of this year. I have even hinted to mum that I may well want an embarressing party for my 30th next year as I seem to have missed out on having a party for a fair few big birthdays.

All that can wait…

I have been doing a fair bit of soul searching recently and most of this is due to the fact my very best friend is very unwell. Originally she had flu which thankfully has passed and now her bones seem to be the issue.
Thankfully the doctors have given her some stronger pain killers and have taken her blood for tests, so hopefully my partner in crime will be back to her best very soon.

At the moment Emma is finding very simple things like walking and making a cup of tea really painful. I didn’t know just how bad she was until I saw her. It breaks my heart to see my friend in so much pain.

This made me think that every single day of our lives we ALL take certain things for granted.

I am grateful for:

Amazing friends and family who love and support me in all aspects of my life however mad or stupid I may be.

Having a roof over my head.

Having a stable job- we may not always like what we do and I think everyone of us has a bad day, but I appreciate the fact that I earn a regular income and I can support myself and my family in doing so.

Being able to go on lavish holidays.

Being able to go to the theatre- the talent that the theatre hosts is out of this world and I truly enjoy the escapism a feel good musical or play can bring me.

Now I really do understand how hard it was for Sheryl to write down what she was grateful for. There are probably many more aspects of life that I am grateful for, and I am challenging myself to document this coming week next Sunday.

The moral of this post is never take anything for granted no matter how simple it may well be. As someone somewhere may not be as fortunate as you are…

Life is a gift. Never take it for granted.

Without bad days, you’d never know what a good one was.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

16 thoughts on “Appreciating The Simple Things…

  1. shez February 10, 2013 at 6:40 pm Reply

    Yes! I realised that there was more to be grateful for than just the obvious things… all the little things count too. Poor Emma, I really hope the docs manage to find out what’s wrong x

    • hayleyslilworld February 10, 2013 at 7:07 pm Reply

      Me too, it’s heartbreaking as there is nothing anyone can do to help…

  2. Jenny February 10, 2013 at 6:56 pm Reply

    This is an inspiring post again coming from you Hayley. I hope that your friend Emma will get better soon. I’ll be praying for her recovery.

    • hayleyslilworld February 10, 2013 at 7:06 pm Reply

      Thanks Jenny, How’s things with you?

      • Jenny February 11, 2013 at 3:22 am

        I’m doing pretty good w/ training. I’m enjoying it so far and hoping that I will make it to the next level 🙂

      • hayleyslilworld February 11, 2013 at 7:28 am

        That’s good to hear. You have the passion and determination so I am sure you will make to next stage.

      • Jenny February 11, 2013 at 9:29 am

        I hope so! 🙂 I wish they would see that too.

      • hayleyslilworld February 11, 2013 at 9:38 am

        They will I am sure… Now when are you going to write a guest post for mwah!!!

      • Jenny February 11, 2013 at 10:49 am

        Yes! OMG. How do I do this guest posting anyway?

      • hayleyslilworld February 11, 2013 at 11:52 am

        Lol well you can write whatever you like no time limit or specifics and then email me. HayleyThorpe10@yahoo.co.uk

      • Jenny February 11, 2013 at 12:18 pm

        Ok 😀 I’ll work on it and send it to you as soon as I can. I’m actually nervous abt this thing. I hope I’ll make a decent post 😉

      • hayleyslilworld February 11, 2013 at 12:24 pm

        I am sure you will. Sheryl wrote a very personal piece for me

  3. djmatticus February 21, 2013 at 5:30 pm Reply

    Happy almost birthday! I hope you enjoy your 29th year!

    • hayleyslilworld February 21, 2013 at 8:46 pm Reply

      Thanking you I’m looking forward to and also terrified of my final year in twenties.

      • djmatticus February 21, 2013 at 8:51 pm

        Oh, nothing to be scared about… The world moves much slower than it used to (in terms of age). Turning 30 is kind of like turning 18 used to be. You’ll be fine. Plus, you’ve got everyone out here in the blogosphere lending you our support.

      • hayleyslilworld February 21, 2013 at 9:16 pm

        In that case let’s see what 29 has to say. Not long now!

Leave a Reply

746 Books

Confessions of a Book Buying Addict

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Education's Voice

All in a day's work...

Dianne Gray author

Australian Author

Considerings

Life in Silver Linings

Sparkle Jam Beauty

Beauty, Mind, Body #expressyourself

Linda's Book Bag

Loving books and reading

Jenny in Neverland

"If you don't imagine, nothing ever happens at all".

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

I didn't have my glasses on....

A trip through life with fingers crossed and eternal optimism.

Dancing in the rain!

I hope you dance....

Randomly Abstract

Tread softly because you tread on my dreams.

Staying Tuesday

"This is my life. And I want you to know that I am both happy and sad and I'm still trying to figure out how that could be."

The Frank Diary of Anna

What to do with all these ideas, memories, and opinions that compete for presence in my conscience?

My Endless Rants & Ramblings

Just a place where I can share myself and be myself.

Life of A Fallen Angel

Clarity through flight...

Born to Be

There is nothing greater outside of us than our one true love, BEING.

You've Been Hooked!

Observations from the trenches....

