Talking Of Musicals…

So since my last entry I have seen the awesome Ronan Keating live at The O2 arena, London, the film adaption of Les Miserables and Viva Forever.
So I thought after my last post was based on all things musical I should update you all.

Ronan Keating live at The O2 London

What a show from Ronan and the announcement of a Boyzone tour to mark 20 years in the industry sure did make my night.
Ronan was joined on stage by Boyzone bandmate Shane Lynch who made the announcement that Boyzone tickets will go on sale on the 14th February 2013.
The show was great I loved hearing the new songs from Fires alongside the old songs and a few Boyzone tracks.
It was lovely to see Brian McFadden again I hadn’t seen him in ages seeing as he now lives in Australia, so it was great for Ronan to have a support act who I also wanted to see.

Les Miserables film

I have also seen the film adaption of Les Miserables. I really do hope the film inspires people to visit the West End. You cannot beat the emotion and raw talent of the theatre. I have only seen the show once but I was spoilt as I saw Alfie Boe as Jean Valjean. I was an emotional wreck I cried constantly including throughout the interval.
I was really impressed with Hugh Jackman’s portrayal of prisoner 24601/Jean Valjean he got across the emotion and the hardship well.

Anne Hathaway’s performance of Fontine was outstanding the emotion was something else.
You will understand why I have mentioned this as I shall be posting something else in relation to another of Anne’s films. I can see why she has been nominated for Best Supporting Actress based on her role in Les Miserables.

The downside for me was Russell Crowe as Javert. I just couldn’t take him seriously and Javert is such a prominent character, I wouldn’t say he can’t sing but I really don’t think he was right for the role. I am also undecided on Helena Bonham Carter and Sacha Baron Cohen as Thénardier and Madame Thénardier. They definitely portrayed the comedic side of the couple I just don’t know whether I would have chosen them.
There is always a worry when an iconic production has been reproduced but I do feel the story was done justice. A new song and some differences but a decent effort.

Viva Forever

Well firstly, I would like to say that now that I have actually seen the show for myself I do think the critics were a little too harsh. I won’t outrightly say it’s the best show ever but it is a feel good show. If you love the music from The Spice Girls you sure will enjoy singing along. I really liked how the songs linked to the story, although parts of the actual story are a little patchy.
There was humour and emotion the only thing that really annoyed me is I don’t feel like the story ended.
I loved that there were some old school classics from The Spice Girls although I guess you’d have to be a bit of a fan to enjoy.
It is a very modern musical that focusses heavily on Reality TV which is quite amusing. I am personally over the whole Reality TV show especially the X Factor it really needs a break now it lacks the real talent that used to have the public on the edge of their seat.
Overall, it is nowhere near as bad as the critics made out. Although I do believe that no one should cover Melanie C’s I Turn To You.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

16 thoughts on “Talking Of Musicals…

  1. Kevin Hall January 29, 2013 at 5:13 pm Reply

    I don’t agree with anything you’ve said. All your reviews are written from a personal perception and your clearly being bias, as appose to havig an open mind and not having any emotional connection. Can you also please stop repeating yourself when you write, it gets a wee bit annoying!

    • hayleyslilworld January 29, 2013 at 5:15 pm Reply

      We all have differing opinions. Thanks for the tip.

      • Kevin Hall January 29, 2013 at 5:29 pm

        I never said we didn’t, but you need to totally change your style of writing if your wanting to do a review as appose to a blog! It’s different writing.

      • hayleyslilworld January 29, 2013 at 5:30 pm

        Thanks for the tip.

  2. shez January 29, 2013 at 7:25 pm Reply

    I will agree that Ronan’s show was fantastic and Brian was a great choice of support. I’d have to disagree with you on Russell Crowe, I thought he did incredibly well as I’ve said before considering that this isn’t his usual role but as you know I have still yet to experience the theatre show to compare but in a non comparative way of thinking which may actually give me an advantage here I think all the actors chosen for the film adaptation was the right decision although I’m not a fan of Sacha Baron Cohen. I think he and (one of my fave actresses) Helena Bonham Carter worked really well in these roles,

    It will be interesting to find out what Viva Forever is like for myself if I ever get around to seeing it. So many shows on my list but look forward to seeing Les Mis at the end of March 😀

    • hayleyslilworld January 29, 2013 at 7:29 pm Reply

      I mean yeah considering it isn’t his usual role he did well. I want to know your opinion once you have seen the stage show.

      • shez January 29, 2013 at 7:30 pm

        Deffo! I’m really curious now!

  3. Sarah Smith February 6, 2013 at 12:22 am Reply

    he was shit in the film. couldn’t sing for toffee and totally ruined it for me.
    I’ve been seeing the show for over 20 years and have seen many people interprite the roles. Alfie was amazing, as was Colm and Ramin most recently. Hayley my only issue with your review would be the fact you said you were spoilt by seeing Alfie you need to open your mind a little, or you could watch the theatre show live and instantly have an opinion based just because its not Alfie. The show is the show, the music is the music it doesn’t change. Story still the same. You need to look past things sometimes. If you love Alfie that is fine or Alfie’s interpretation of the role but saying it like you did just makes it sound like your mind is made up and no one will even come close regardless of how good they are. Maybe watch the original anniversary concert just so you get to see someone else in the role.
    As a whole I didn’t enjoy the film one bit. It was too patchy, songs came to an anti climax and just ended and went onto the next scene, very poor.
    The songs they added in are horrendous and in my opinion and I know this to be true of most people I have spoken to, some who were even in the film as extras think its not that great an advert for the show. You can’t beat live theatre and the emotion and power you get from seeing it live to in the cinema doesn’t even come close.

    • hayleyslilworld February 6, 2013 at 12:26 am Reply

      Thanks for taking the time to comment. I really liked Hugh Jackman as Jean Valjean, I get what you mean though. Les Mis is my best friends fave show so I am sure I will see it again. I totally agree you can’t beat the theatre i balled soo much at the emotion.

      • Sarah Smith February 6, 2013 at 12:41 am

        I was talking about Russell Crowe. I couldn’t help but notice that your other reviews are all again a little biased. Viva Forever was panned in the industry and got no higher then a 2*. Credible journalists and publications around the globe have given their opinions, and you saying they can’t be wrong seems a little far fetched. Your clearly a fan of the spice girls, and the target audience for the show. So weather the story is good or bad your already going to come away with the perception that its not as bad as the reviews say, because you like the songs. With the songs you can’t go wrong if you like them already. So your review isn’t exactly formed with an open mind.

      • hayleyslilworld February 6, 2013 at 12:43 am

        Thanks for the tip. Yeah me and my friend really didn’t enjoy Russell Crowe at all.

      • Sarah Smith February 6, 2013 at 12:44 am

        I’ve just seen someone else above me has said the same thing.

      • Sarah Smith February 6, 2013 at 12:45 am

        It’s something your going to have to think about in the future with reviews or your never fully going to have a proper unbiased piece.

      • hayleyslilworld February 6, 2013 at 12:46 am

        Thanks for the feedback.

  4. George Neville February 26, 2013 at 1:30 pm Reply

    Hi Hayley,
    I’ve been meaning to leave a comment on your blog for some time now. A few people above me have comment on your technique so thought it was best to reply on this post.
    There is no way of saying it nicely, but they are spot on! Your technique is nowhere that of a professional. If you were purely doing it for your own benefit that’s ok, but you wouldn’t get work from doing it.
    I’ve also read a few of your actual written articles in the past and these too fall far from the mark. Your constantly writing how your yet to score the job you want in the industry. I for one can see your biggest mistake and that is your not serious enough about it. Saying and doing are totally different things. Working full time is going to hinder you in the long run as you never going to be able to commit to finding your perfect job. I’ve been working for the same agency for 15 years and worked my way up. You need to be applying daily for at least 15 jobs. Even contacting places who don’t have any work and sniff around.
    If I’m honest though sadly I think your biggest let down is your writing, your going to dramatically have to re think how you write if you want a shot. Writing is a skill and just because you may have a bit of paper saying you can do something doesn’t mean you can sadly.
    There are other things you could possibly do that doesn’t centre around independent writing. So maybe have a think about that?
    Sometimes if people don’t tell you these things you’ll go through life wrapped up in cotton wool. It’s no different from the X factor and the people on there.

Leave a Reply

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Education's Voice

All in a day's work...

Dianne Gray author

Australian Author

Considerings

Life in Silver Linings

Sparkle Jam Beauty

Beauty, Mind, Body #expressyourself

Linda's Book Bag

Loving books and reading

Jenny in Neverland

"If you don't imagine, nothing ever happens at all".

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

I didn't have my glasses on....

A trip through life with fingers crossed and eternal optimism.

Dancing in the rain!

I hope you dance....

Randomly Abstract

Tread softly because you tread on my dreams.

Staying Tuesday

"This is my life. And I want you to know that I am both happy and sad and I'm still trying to figure out how that could be."

The Frank Diary of Anna

What to do with all these ideas, memories, and opinions that compete for presence in my conscience?

My Endless Rants & Ramblings

Just a place where I can share myself and be myself.

Life of A Fallen Angel

Clarity through flight...

Born to Be

There is nothing greater outside of us than our one true love, BEING.

You've Been Hooked!

Observations from the trenches....

Forever 21

A broken heart is open to receive...

