Everyone Deserves A Dream Right?

Helloooo, well I am trying to make up for being the laziest blogger around, and I realised there are a few posts that I’ve written for www.yuppee.com that I haven’t shared with my loyal readers.

This piece I submitted on the very day I was heading to London Heathrow ahead of my trip to California, USA. Something that was said to me from my best friend spurred on my creative instincts and this is what happened next…as always I will have posted half of the piece and the link to continue reading. As ever I look forward to your comments…

Each and every one of us has a dream whether it be a career or a lifestyle.

None of us should be told to give up on our dreams, without dreams and aspirations what are we? Nothing.

Take me I’m a writer and whatever happens I’ll always want to be a writer. The day I get paid to do that I’ll no longer think of my job as just a job. I have a very good friend who like me loves and appreciates musical theatre.

The difference between us is she can sell musical theatre, now she’s been told that she’s aiming to high and she should just focus on retail, even though she already has experience in the job and she’s had many very good interviews.

Due to the state of unemployment each job that is advertised receives a much higher amount of applications, so it’s not that you’re rubbish, but maybe just maybe you were pipped to the post by something very minor.

Who has the right to dictate our dreams?

http://www.yuppee.com/2012/10/01/everyone-deserves-a-dream-right/

Talking of dreams….I’m pretty certain I should be catching up on some well needed beauty sleep…feel free to leave me some lovely comments for when I wake up.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

13 thoughts on “Everyone Deserves A Dream Right?

  1. Clive Martin November 3, 2012 at 1:35 pm Reply

    Hayley I’m going to give you some friendly advice. I’ve been reading your blog for a while as like to scout for new writers for my website.
    I’ve been an editor for 25 years now and know a great deal about how the industry works.
    Everyone is entitled to a dream, but sometimes things just don’t work out.
    Having a blog is fine but from reading your previous posts you seem lost.
    Some of your previous posts are confused with what they want to be. I’ve also noticed your writing in a style of what you think people want to hear, rather then having your own style.
    There is nothing wrong with having a blog for a hobby, but at the moment nothing you’ve written would be published without being edited.
    I got my first break by walking round London and going into places personally. Be prepared for the long haul, starting at the very bottom, making tea, photocopying etc
    Unfortunately it also comes down to who you know in this industry, more so then the writing.
    It won’t happen over night but if you really want it I’d concentrate on your writing and work out what you want to do.
    Remember that you can also be a writer in many different areas. Try other areas and not just features, opinions and reviews etc.
    I know what I’ve said may not be what you want to hear, but constructive criticism is always good. You need tough skin in this industry and I believe the advice I’ve been given in my years have helped with who I am today.

    Best wishes
    Clive

    • hayleyslilworld November 3, 2012 at 1:43 pm Reply

      Woah! Thanks for the comment Clive I really do appreciate it. Would I be able to speak to you in more detail maybe via email? My email is HayleyThorpe10@yahoo.co.uk

      Thanks!

      • Josh Maguire December 15, 2012 at 11:57 pm

        I do love how you delete my comments Hayley! Can’t handle the truth love?

      • hayleyslilworld December 15, 2012 at 11:59 pm

        There is a difference between constructive criticism and just being nasty. I have listened to Clive’s words and all i post is all me.

      • Josh Maguire December 16, 2012 at 12:14 am

        Nasty? What part of ‘Well said Clive’ is being nasty?
        What you write should be all you it’s a blog for goodness sake! I agree with many things he said, and it’s much deeper then just being all you.
        I’m being honest now but I don’t think your cut out to be a writer if you can’t take comments from a member of the general public. Your writing is on a blog site for the world to see. Real journalists get more bad feedback then good, and you can’t seem to handle a few words of wisdom on your blog?

      • hayleyslilworld December 16, 2012 at 12:16 am

        I can handle comments. But writing lmao and just general mocking is just insulting. I obviously didn’t explain myself well, I have always been me but now I post more of what I feel.

      • Josh Maguire December 16, 2012 at 12:22 am

        One last thing, like Clive I’ve been working in the industry for a while now and you should be careful what you write as it could harm you in the future and stop you from getting a job. I was going to make you an offer but not sure i like your attitude. Also be very careful what you write on social networking sites such as twitter, very dangerous places I’d personally suggest going private!

      • hayleyslilworld December 16, 2012 at 12:24 am

        If you were thinking that why did you mock me? That was always going to put my back up. Thanks for the advice.

      • hayleyslilworld December 16, 2012 at 12:39 am

        Quick question what made you ask about my journal? As you never did reply when I answered.

      • Josh Maguire December 16, 2012 at 12:40 am

        So I’ve been nasty and I’ve mocked you? It gets worse. Lmao is an action and is often used when someone is happy or in my use of it when someone finds something funny! It’s harmless. I actually thought it was sweet. I’ve read your blog on ‘over thinking situations’ and this is exactly what you’ve done. Don’t be so quick to over react as not everything is intended in the way you think!

      • hayleyslilworld December 16, 2012 at 12:43 am

        Are you sure your not my best friend under a different name? I did say one step at a time. You live and learn. I apologise for my over reaction. I am only human. Sweet- i quite like that. And the journal?

  2. Josh Maguire December 16, 2012 at 12:50 am Reply

    I was talking about the journal

    • hayleyslilworld December 16, 2012 at 12:53 am Reply

      The journal isn’t online. Although I still haven’t got back to it sadly. Hence why I have posted a fair few quotes those that I would originally post in my journal.

Leave a Reply

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Education's Voice

All in a day's work...

Dianne Gray author

Australian Author

Considerings

Life in Silver Linings

Sparkle Jam Beauty

Beauty, Mind, Body #expressyourself

Linda's Book Bag

Loving books and reading

Jenny in Neverland

"If you don't imagine, nothing ever happens at all".

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

I didn't have my glasses on....

A trip through life with fingers crossed and eternal optimism.

Dancing in the rain!

I hope you dance....

Randomly Abstract

Tread softly because you tread on my dreams.

Staying Tuesday

"This is my life. And I want you to know that I am both happy and sad and I'm still trying to figure out how that could be."

The Frank Diary of Anna

What to do with all these ideas, memories, and opinions that compete for presence in my conscience?

My Endless Rants & Ramblings

Just a place where I can share myself and be myself.

Life of A Fallen Angel

Clarity through flight...

Born to Be

There is nothing greater outside of us than our one true love, BEING.

You've Been Hooked!

Observations from the trenches....

