David Beckham is snubbed by team GB

It seems rude of me if I don’t mention the controversial topic surrounding David Beckham being left out of Team GB.
On Monday Stuart Pearce’s Olympic football squad will be announced and David Beckham will not feature.

I honestly thought that David Beckham’s name would be first on that team sheet.
David put his heart and soul into helping London win the Olympic bid and what thanks does he get.
I understand that Stuart Pearce was only allowed to take three players over 30 years of age, those players are Ryan Giggs, Micah Richards and Craig Bellamy.
Now, I’m not going to sit here and knock these guys, although I would have had David Beckham over any of these but they have still been chosen on merit.

Beckham may not be playing football at the highest level anymore but he is fit and able to play. He also paints a positive image of our country, which he has done worldwide.
As an experienced player he can provide support and advice to the younger players.
The presence he has on and off the field is outstanding.

His omission has shocked many people. With a number of journalists, football legends and the general public alike voicing their fury at Stuart Pearce’s decision on social networking sites and within the media.

Beckham said: “Everyone knows how much playing for my country has meant to me. So I would have been honoured to have been part of this unique Team GB squad. Naturally I am very disappointed, but there will be no bigger supporter of the team than me.”

Stuart Pearce’s Team GB were drawn in Group A at London 2012 alongside Senegal, Uruguay and United Arab Emirates.
Their Olympic campaign begins against Senegal at Old Trafford on 26 July.

I think on this occasion Pearce has made a bad decision but only time will tell.
It’s reported that Tottenham Hotspur’s Gareth Bale who is expected to be chosen by Pearce, will have to pull out after suffering an injury which will rule him out of the London Olympics.

Are you disappointed like me?
Or do you think Stuart Pearce has made the right decision?
I’d love to hear your thoughts.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “David Beckham is snubbed by team GB

  1. Nadine Landrebe July 1, 2012 at 7:14 pm Reply

    Too right, he should have been first choice in the over 30’s – he’s got such a high profile world wide and done so much to help London win the bid for the olympics he should have been an automatic inclusion. I’m not impressed and as you know im not a huge footie fan x

    • hayleyslilworld July 1, 2012 at 7:18 pm Reply

      Thanks for the comment Nadine.
      Nice to see you on my blog, I was toying with this post from the minute I heard the news about Becks.
      Hayley

  2. Nadine Landrebe July 1, 2012 at 7:44 pm Reply

    im glad you went with it – cos its an outrage and people need to be made aware 😀

    • hayleyslilworld July 1, 2012 at 7:46 pm Reply

      It sure is. After all he’s done it’s a kick in the teeth he knows h’s nearing the end of his career so why not make the man happy.

  3. shez July 1, 2012 at 9:09 pm Reply

    What makes it worse is that Olympic organisers still want Posh to perform with the Spice Girls for the closing ceremony. They’ve made a big mistake with not Including David in team GB! Poor decision!

    • hayleyslilworld July 1, 2012 at 9:15 pm Reply

      I knew there were rumours about the Spice Girls performing but that sure is an insult.

Leave a Reply

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Education's Voice

All in a day's work...

Dianne Gray author

Australian Author

Considerings

Life in Silver Linings

Sparkle Jam Beauty

Beauty, Mind, Body #expressyourself

Linda's Book Bag

Loving books and reading

Jenny in Neverland

"If you don't imagine, nothing ever happens at all".

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

I didn't have my glasses on....

A trip through life with fingers crossed and eternal optimism.

Dancing in the rain!

I hope you dance....

Randomly Abstract

Tread softly because you tread on my dreams.

Staying Tuesday

"This is my life. And I want you to know that I am both happy and sad and I'm still trying to figure out how that could be."

The Frank Diary of Anna

What to do with all these ideas, memories, and opinions that compete for presence in my conscience?

My Endless Rants & Ramblings

Just a place where I can share myself and be myself.

Life of A Fallen Angel

Clarity through flight...

Born to Be

There is nothing greater outside of us than our one true love, BEING.

You've Been Hooked!

Observations from the trenches....

Forever 21

A broken heart is open to receive...

