Interviewing Micky Hazard was a huge highlight of my journalistic career

Now when Mark Roach the editor of Total Football asked me whether I would like to interview Micky Hazard I was over the moon. If he had told me this in person rather than over the phone I may have hugged the life out of him, and yes that is my honest reaction.

MICKY HAZARD is a lilywhite legend of course I would LOVE to chat to him on behalf of Total Football Magazine.

So here is a snippet of the feature that I wrote for Total Football, you know the drill if you want to know more click the lovely link where the feature stops.

Former Tottenham, Chelsea and England midfielder Micky Hazard was one of the most stylish players of his generation.

He was a key member of the 1984 UEFA cup winning Spurs team – but these days he’s content in sharing his knowledge with the youth of today.

Hazard is director of football/coach at Sevenoaks FC. He looks after 35 teams and also has links with Fulham – which means he often sends his talented youngsters onto the Premier League side.

He said: “I played among one of the greatest spurs teams ever, yet I have more satisfaction in helping a young footballer progress.”

He refers to his players as his boys. His team are like a family unit, and just like any family you can have the odd dig or moan at them. But you won’t hear a bad word against them and that’s how Micky treats ‘his boys’.

More confident

If every footballer was like Micky Hazard then maybe English football would be in a much better place, and maybe our youth teams would be stronger and more confident.

Many critics say that the talent in English football is drying up, making us wonder what the future holds for our national squad.

Hazard disagrees: “The critics miss the point, the talent in this country is quite phenomenal, yet the coaching is not to the standard that it should be.”

If more footballers went back to grass roots level during retirement then maybe these critics would be singing a different song, from a different hymn sheet. Hazard is from a footballing era where all the lads wanted to do was play football.

They would do anything to put on there teams colours and grace the football field. Many footballers may well love the game but they also love the fame and fortune.

More rewarding

Hazard says that, as much as he loved playing football, coaching is much more rewarding.

He said: “As a player you are much more selfish looking at your own performance more so than that of the team.”

http://www.totalfootballmag.com/features/premier-league-features/micky-hazard-we-need-to-focus-on-coaching-talent/

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Interviewing Micky Hazard was a huge highlight of my journalistic career

  1. Scott van Dort June 29, 2012 at 1:37 pm Reply

    Brilliant Hayley! “Hazard is from a footballing era where all the lads wanted to do was play football” – exactly! Great read!

    • hayleyslilworld June 29, 2012 at 2:11 pm Reply

      Hey Scott,

      Thanks for the comment, how are you?
      Interviewing Micky was just like talking to an old friend he was awesome.

      • Scott van Dort June 29, 2012 at 3:21 pm

        Your excitement and passion was conveyed! Yeah, doing well and excited about Arsenal’s new signing (Giroud)! I see you guys picked up Sigurdsson and Bale signed on for another 4 years – great start to your campaign.

      • hayleyslilworld June 29, 2012 at 4:55 pm

        Awww cheers Scott, much appreciated. It seem’s that my sporty posts are going down well. Keep checking as I may well be ranting about Mr Beckham. I am over the moon that we’ve kept Bale. Ooooh I also have an Arsenal piece to upload. Yeah you guys have made a good signing there.

Leave a Reply

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Education's Voice

All in a day's work...

Dianne Gray author

Australian Author

Considerings

Life in Silver Linings

Sparkle Jam Beauty

Beauty, Mind, Body #expressyourself

Linda's Book Bag

Loving books and reading

Jenny in Neverland

"If you don't imagine, nothing ever happens at all".

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

I didn't have my glasses on....

A trip through life with fingers crossed and eternal optimism.

Dancing in the rain!

I hope you dance....

Randomly Abstract

Tread softly because you tread on my dreams.

Staying Tuesday

"This is my life. And I want you to know that I am both happy and sad and I'm still trying to figure out how that could be."

The Frank Diary of Anna

What to do with all these ideas, memories, and opinions that compete for presence in my conscience?

My Endless Rants & Ramblings

Just a place where I can share myself and be myself.

Life of A Fallen Angel

Clarity through flight...

Born to Be

There is nothing greater outside of us than our one true love, BEING.

You've Been Hooked!

Observations from the trenches....

