Roy Hodgson’s 23-man England squad for Euro 2012

So, today Roy Hodgson has selected his 23-man England team ahead of the European Championships.
As originally hinted Rio Ferdinand has not been named among his selection.
Surprisingly, John Terry makes the team but NOT as captain.
Steven Gerrard has been awarded the captain’s armband ahead of the competition.
He does a good job for Liverpool, I think he needs a little more confidence to make a great England captain but I have no doubt he can do the job.

It’s nice to see some youngsters have made the team.
My only worry for them is the pressure that the UK public and media will give them.
As a Tottenham Hotspur supporter I’m glad to see Jermain Defoe in the team, I must admit I am rather shocked though as he hasn’t started many games this season.
I’ve always been a fan of Scott Parker- I watched him play a fair bit when he first started out at Charlton Athletic.
My only concern is that he has been struggling with an Achilles injury, which meant he didn’t play the last few games of the Premier League season.
As much as he is a warrior on the pitch I’m half thinking was calling him up a mistake.

Well it’s a new era under a new manager.
Change is healthy, and although many of us probably dislike change, let’s get behind Hodgson and the boys ahead of the Euros.

Roy Hodgson’s England squad:

Goalkeepers – Joe Hart, Robert Green, John Ruddy.

Defenders – Leighton Baines, Gary Cahill, Ashley Cole, Glen Johnson, Phil Jones, Joleon Lescott, John Terry.

Midfielders – Gareth Barry, Stewart Downing, Steven Gerrard, Frank Lampard, James Milner, Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain, Scott Parker, Theo Walcott, Ashley Young.

Strikers – Andy Carroll, Jermain Defoe, Wayne Rooney, Danny Welbeck.

Standby – Jack Butland, Phil Jagielka, Jordan Henderson, Adam Johnson, Daniel Sturridge.

The team was announced at 1pm today and since then Rio Ferdinand has expressed his sadness on Twitter.

Rio said “Absolutely loved playing for england….to say I’m gutted is an understatement of the highest order…”

Do let me know your thoughts on the team selection?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

746 Books

Confessions of a Book Buying Addict

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Education's Voice

All in a day's work...

Dianne Gray author

Australian Author

Considerings

Life in Silver Linings

Sparkle Jam Beauty

Beauty, Mind, Body #expressyourself

Linda's Book Bag

Loving books and reading

Jenny in Neverland

"If you don't imagine, nothing ever happens at all".

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

I didn't have my glasses on....

A trip through life with fingers crossed and eternal optimism.

Dancing in the rain!

I hope you dance....

Randomly Abstract

Tread softly because you tread on my dreams.

Staying Tuesday

"This is my life. And I want you to know that I am both happy and sad and I'm still trying to figure out how that could be."

The Frank Diary of Anna

What to do with all these ideas, memories, and opinions that compete for presence in my conscience?

My Endless Rants & Ramblings

Just a place where I can share myself and be myself.

Life of A Fallen Angel

Clarity through flight...

Born to Be

There is nothing greater outside of us than our one true love, BEING.

You've Been Hooked!

Observations from the trenches....

