Roy Hodgson Pips Harry Redknapp

This post comes after the announcement that the FA will speak to Roy Hodgson about the England job.
It’s funny I’ve been toying with a piece on the England manager’s job and before I had the chance to complete it everything changed.

The constant controversy over who will replace Fabio Capello as the next England manager had me thinking.

The first opinion based letter that I ever had published in a newspaper was based on the situation surrounding the England manager.
I’ll never forget the day I saw my name supporting my words in the Daily Star-Sport section.
I was over the moon, I swear my mum bought every copy of The Daily Star from our local shops.
I believe that my opinions for football was part of the reason I wanted to write.

I have and always will have a great respect for Terry Venables.
I know we didn’t win anything under El Tel but for me he was an amazing manager.
He got the best out of the players and the fans loved him.
Euro 96 was my first real understanding on an international tournament.
It was a special time, I truly loved the way the nation got behind the boys and I believed we had what it took to win.
That was also my first understanding of football related heartache.

If you were walking the streets when a game was on, they were eerily quiet as no one would stir until the half-time and or full-time whistle was blown.

No disrespect to Sven Goran Eriksson or even Fabio Capello. Both managers brought a great deal to the England team but I must say it would be fantastic to have an Englishman again.
See the thing is only an Englishman can have the same sort of passion as an England fan or even an England player.

I knew that Roy Hodgson was among the speculated candidates but I honestly thought the FA wanted Harry Redknapp.
As a Spurs supporter I’ve had an enormous amount of respect for Harry Redknapp and despite the awful way we’ve played recently I still wouldn’t want him to go.
So for me I have breathed a sigh of relief, but as an England fan I’m really not sure that Roy is the man for the job.
I don’t doubt that he’s a very experienced manager but is he the man to steer us to glory?

So I shall await his first official interview as England’s manager.
It looks like Roy Hodgson will be named England manager on Tuesday. We shall see.

I would love to know if you’re having the same thoughts as me on our potential new manager?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Roy Hodgson Pips Harry Redknapp

  1. thethrussellproject May 2, 2012 at 5:24 pm Reply

    Nice peace, I thought Harry was going to get it… but I am in no way disappointed that Roy has. He has vast experience and should command the respect of any player. I really hope he boots out the likes of Terry who are just darn disrespectful, the way he conducted himself at the 2010 world cup with that press conference and ever since.

    Good luck Roy Hodgson, I just hope the media does not sabotage yet another campaign as always is the case.

    • hayleyslilworld May 2, 2012 at 5:28 pm Reply

      Firstly, cheers for the comment Russell.

      I must say I was a little shocked when Roy was appointed. I do feel a bit sorry for him though, I didn’t see his press conference but i’ve read a few reports and he was asked about Harry a fair bit.

      I’m not going to lie as a Spurs fan I’m kind of glad that Harry is still with us.

      I cannot wait to see what he does and like you I hope he gets rid of the bad mannered egos from the England team.

      • thethrussellproject May 2, 2012 at 5:37 pm

        No problem, yes and The Sun have done a pretty low headline today apparently.

        I’ve always had a soft spot for Harry and Spurs but I’m afraid being a Newcastle fan I can’t wish you luck tonight as we want that 4th spot 🙂

  2. hayleyslilworld May 2, 2012 at 5:39 pm Reply

    I haven’t seen the Sun but I heard about their headline.
    I can’t say I’m surprised, they are the Sun after all.
    You guys have been playing well but I do want that spot ha.

Leave a Reply

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Education's Voice

All in a day's work...

Dianne Gray author

Australian Author

Considerings

Life in Silver Linings

Sparkle Jam Beauty

Beauty, Mind, Body #expressyourself

Linda's Book Bag

Loving books and reading

Jenny in Neverland

"If you don't imagine, nothing ever happens at all".

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

I didn't have my glasses on....

A trip through life with fingers crossed and eternal optimism.

Dancing in the rain!

I hope you dance....

Randomly Abstract

Tread softly because you tread on my dreams.

Staying Tuesday

"This is my life. And I want you to know that I am both happy and sad and I'm still trying to figure out how that could be."

The Frank Diary of Anna

What to do with all these ideas, memories, and opinions that compete for presence in my conscience?

My Endless Rants & Ramblings

Just a place where I can share myself and be myself.

Life of A Fallen Angel

Clarity through flight...

Born to Be

There is nothing greater outside of us than our one true love, BEING.

You've Been Hooked!

Observations from the trenches....

Forever 21

A broken heart is open to receive...

