Film Review: Bad Teacher

Summary:
Elizabeth Halsey (Cameron Diaz) is a foul-mouthed, ruthless, and inappropriate teacher. She drinks, gets high, and can’t wait to marry a meal ticket to get out of her bogus day job. When she’s dumped by her fiance, she sets her sights on a rich, handsome substitute teacher (Justin Timberlake) while shrugging off the advances of the school gym teacher (Jason Segel).
The consequences of her wild and outrageous schemes give her students, co-workers, and even herself an education like no other!

Review

Well I’m a huge fan of Cameron Diaz and as ever I wanted to see this film when it was at the cinema but I never got round to it.
It was interesting to see Cameron in a different role.
In ‘Bad Teacher’ she’s just that- she sees being a teacher as a means to an end and doesn’t care less about the children, her co-workers or more importantly the syllabus.

You find yourself laughing at how hilarious she can be.
Let’s be frank, Elizabeth is not a nice teacher and it would be safe to say the children would dread this lesson.
Well that’s what you’d think but as she rarely teaches (at the beginning) the children don’t mind so much as they’re enjoying watching films.

Justin Timberlake is kind of nerdy, yet really funny.
This is the second film I’ve seen him in and he holds his own as an actor.
I must admit I laughed at his nerdy dancing, I was cringing at his awful song.
It’s funny that he acted to be so awful when he’s an awesome singer.
The other part that made me laugh so much was when Elizabeth (Cameron Diaz) and Scott (Justin Timberlake) characters dry hump. I was cringing whilst watching this and what made it worse was that Scott was talking whilst doing it, it was so embarrassing.

Elizabeth just goes from bad to worse and the funny thing is you’re hoping she gets away with it.
I know this is a rather extreme example but just like in Hitchcock’s Psycho you know that you should want Norman Bates caught but part of you is saying let the car sink- it’s just instinct as a viewer.

You also want Elizabeth to be trumped, the levels she goes to, to secure the teacher bonus are out of this world.
You sure will enjoy watching Elizabeth always come up with an answer to trump Amy.
Amy is a happy, bubbly teacher who truly loves teaching, she also looks out for all her colleagues.
Amy tried so hard to be friends with Elizabeth but she didn’t want to know.
I think Amy would be a better friend than an enemy but Elizabeth is always one step ahead.

This is a really funny film, it definitely brightened my day and I would highly recommend it.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

746 Books

Confessions of a Book Buying Addict

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Education's Voice

All in a day's work...

Dianne Gray author

Australian Author

Considerings

Life in Silver Linings

Sparkle Jam Beauty

Beauty, Mind, Body #expressyourself

Linda's Book Bag

Loving books and reading

Jenny in Neverland

"If you don't imagine, nothing ever happens at all".

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

I didn't have my glasses on....

A trip through life with fingers crossed and eternal optimism.

Dancing in the rain!

I hope you dance....

Randomly Abstract

Tread softly because you tread on my dreams.

Staying Tuesday

"This is my life. And I want you to know that I am both happy and sad and I'm still trying to figure out how that could be."

The Frank Diary of Anna

What to do with all these ideas, memories, and opinions that compete for presence in my conscience?

My Endless Rants & Ramblings

Just a place where I can share myself and be myself.

Life of A Fallen Angel

Clarity through flight...

Born to Be

There is nothing greater outside of us than our one true love, BEING.

You've Been Hooked!

Observations from the trenches....

