Becoming A First Aider Again Well Possibly…

I was a member of the St John’s Ambulance for 10 years.
I started out as a Badger at aged 6 and I left at 16.
I’d learn basic first aid and I’d also learn some other basic skills like road safety which included crossing the road.
When I progressed to Cadets the first aid became harder and I’d learn more for example CPR and the recovery position as well as a series of slings and bandages.

During those 10 years I went to many local and national events as a voluntary first aider.
Anything from local fetes, running clubs and football matches, to theatre shows, Party In The Park, The London Marathon and Trooping of the Colour.
I really did enjoy those 10 years, the reason I left was because I was doing my GCSE’s and I no longer had enough free time for St John’s and my studies.

I’ve often said that I’d like to refresh my knowledge and get a new certificate for my skills.
Previously, at work I wasn’t asked to attend the one day first aid course because I wasn’t full-time.

But on Friday 13th April 2012 I attended a one day first aid course by the British Red Cross.
I was surprised how easily a lot of the skills came back to me. Obviously I was a little rusty on a few things, but it has been 12 years since I practised any of my first aid skills-bar putting a hand bandage on a colleague at work when she’d cut her hand.

Melanie the first aider was so patient and helpful with us all. Such a good teacher, fun and knowledgeable.
We had a conversation about my previous first aid experience and she mentioned that the British Red Cross have various voluntary schemes.
She explained about becoming an event volunteer, you are asked to give up 10 hours a year.

That is nothing that’s like a few hours over a days work in a whole entire year.
I haven’t called the hotline number yet but I’ve had a look on the website.
I’m glad I know the basics but I am seriously considering giving up a little of my time to help a worthwhile charity.
On the plus side my first aid skills will be fresh and my certificates will stay up to date.

I shall keep you informed on my progress in looking into this some more and as and when I sign up.

I can seriously see me doing this again.
The video we were shown whilst on training was heartbreaking and it shows that first aid is for everyday life.

I hope to god I never have to use CPR but I’d also like to feel confident that I could assist a friend or loved one in a crisis.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Becoming A First Aider Again Well Possibly…

  1. learn spanish easy com recipes dessert April 26, 2012 at 11:39 pm Reply

    Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wished to mention that I’ve truly loved browsing your weblog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing for your feed and I hope you write once more soon!

Leave a Reply

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Education's Voice

All in a day's work...

Dianne Gray author

Australian Author

Considerings

Life in Silver Linings

Sparkle Jam Beauty

Beauty, Mind, Body #expressyourself

Linda's Book Bag

Loving books and reading

Jenny in Neverland

"If you don't imagine, nothing ever happens at all".

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

I didn't have my glasses on....

A trip through life with fingers crossed and eternal optimism.

Dancing in the rain!

I hope you dance....

Randomly Abstract

Tread softly because you tread on my dreams.

Staying Tuesday

"This is my life. And I want you to know that I am both happy and sad and I'm still trying to figure out how that could be."

The Frank Diary of Anna

What to do with all these ideas, memories, and opinions that compete for presence in my conscience?

My Endless Rants & Ramblings

Just a place where I can share myself and be myself.

Life of A Fallen Angel

Clarity through flight...

Born to Be

There is nothing greater outside of us than our one true love, BEING.

You've Been Hooked!

Observations from the trenches....

