Album/DVD Review: Andy Abraham Remember When…

I think each and every one of us has watched The X Factor at some point.
I must admit I no longer watch it, as each year tends to blend into the last.
For me no one stands out anymore, maybe I’ve made myself sick of all forms of Reality TV.
I loved Pop Idol, Popstars, Popstars The Rivals and even the X Factor when it started.

Andy appeared on the X Factor back in 2005 he was runner-up to Shayne Ward who won the competition.
I remember him explaining that he was a dustman.
Back then I thought he had a decent voice, but was he pin-up material?

It seems many artists are releasing dvd/albums these days.
I first thought it was just a DVD before discovering it’s an album and a DVD.
What I like about this booklet is that Andy explains the influence behind each song and why he’s chosen them for his ‘Remember When…’ album.

I enjoyed reading why he’d chosen them and the ‘family photos’ that accompanied this.
This is the second album I’ve read with a description like this and it definitely adds to the experience.
Seeing why Andy chose each song makes you think slightly differently about the choices that have been made.

Before I’d even listened to the album the song that stood out for me in the track listing was ‘Lean On Me’.
I have always loved this song, and I must say Andy has made it his own and sang it well.
Having listened to the sad story behind Andy choosing this song, I can see he truly has put his heart and soul into ‘Lean On Me’ for a friend who is no longer here.

If I’m completely honest the only song I can remember Andy singing on the show is ‘Me and Mrs Jones’ so it makes perfect sense that he’s included this on his album.
Let’s face it- this song was a turning point in Andy’s career whilst on the X Factor.

The DVD- is like a documentary with Andy featuring him performing some of the tracks that feature on his ‘Remember When’ album.

I love the way a song can touch us all in completely different ways.
That’s the joy of music, you can be transported back to a time and place, and we all have different thoughts, feelings and opinions.

‘Remember When…’ Is a very meaningful and soulful album.
Andy may have not won the X Factor but he’s still doing what he loves.
To be honest Andy is not really my cup of tea but I cannot fault his singing.

I’ve also been invited to Andy’s show ‘History of the Big Bands’ but I’m not sure I’ll be able to make it. But if I do I’ll be sure to blog about it.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Education's Voice

All in a day's work...

Dianne Gray author

Australian Author

Considerings

Life in Silver Linings

Sparkle Jam Beauty

Beauty, Mind, Body #expressyourself

Linda's Book Bag

Loving books and reading

Jenny in Neverland

"If you don't imagine, nothing ever happens at all".

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

I didn't have my glasses on....

A trip through life with fingers crossed and eternal optimism.

Dancing in the rain!

I hope you dance....

Randomly Abstract

Tread softly because you tread on my dreams.

Staying Tuesday

"This is my life. And I want you to know that I am both happy and sad and I'm still trying to figure out how that could be."

The Frank Diary of Anna

What to do with all these ideas, memories, and opinions that compete for presence in my conscience?

My Endless Rants & Ramblings

Just a place where I can share myself and be myself.

Life of A Fallen Angel

Clarity through flight...

Born to Be

There is nothing greater outside of us than our one true love, BEING.

You've Been Hooked!

Observations from the trenches....

Forever 21

A broken heart is open to receive...

