Sexism In Football

When I first saw the advert for the documentary ‘Sexism In Football’ with Gabby Logan, I immediately had to tune in.
I’m a huge football fan and my love for football is because of my mum-not my dad.

Over the years as a football fan, I’ve heard all the jibes.
Whose got the best legs, I bet you don’t know the offside rule, Do you support that team to impress a guy?

Yes, every woman is probably attracted to at least one footballer but is that why we enjoy the beautiful game?

In my opinion no it’s not, I love the thrill, the passion and the anticipation of a football match.
Ask anyone that knows me, when my beloved Tottenham Hotspur play bad I am an actual nightmare.
I can get just as moody as any guy over a bad game.

I don’t know why I’m so shocked after last years incident between Andy Gray and Richard Key’s.
In listening to some of these football writers, commentators, chair-women, club board members I am well and truly gob smacked by the way they’ve been treated.

Why should a woman be locked out of a press conference?
Or refused entry to the tunnel or the dressing rooms.
Why should a woman in football have her job compromised due to sexism?

I can’t believe some clubs have had a bodyguard on the door keeping women out of certain areas it’s absurd.

It’s interesting that the FA are trying to banish Racism and Homophobia from the beautiful game.
Yet, there is still this dark-side where sexism exists, why are they not trying harder to change this?

In listening to Jacqui Oatley speak about the awful backlash she got when she first became a commentator for Match Of The Day.
I cannot believe the press couldn’t just say well done to her.
Instead of just congratulating Jacqui they came up with the ludicrous suggestion that she hadn’t done it live.

Karren Brady was the first well known female in football.
At the end of her first ever press conference at Birmingham City she asked if there were any questions.
A journalist asked her “What are your vital statistics?”
Why was that relevant, it has nothing to do with her job.

Some of the other abuse women have suffered within the game I love is horrendous.
The funny thing is, I would still love to work alongside these women.

Maybe one day we’ll all be equals.
That thought is what I’ll strive towards each and every day.

I also penned a piece on ‘Sexism In Football’ for Total Football Magazine online

http://www.totalfootballmag.com/womens-football/sexism-in-football/

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

746 Books

Confessions of a Book Buying Addict

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Education's Voice

All in a day's work...

Dianne Gray author

Australian Author

Considerings

Life in Silver Linings

Sparkle Jam Beauty

Beauty, Mind, Body #expressyourself

Linda's Book Bag

Loving books and reading

Jenny in Neverland

"If you don't imagine, nothing ever happens at all".

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

I didn't have my glasses on....

A trip through life with fingers crossed and eternal optimism.

Dancing in the rain!

I hope you dance....

Randomly Abstract

Tread softly because you tread on my dreams.

Staying Tuesday

"This is my life. And I want you to know that I am both happy and sad and I'm still trying to figure out how that could be."

The Frank Diary of Anna

What to do with all these ideas, memories, and opinions that compete for presence in my conscience?

My Endless Rants & Ramblings

Just a place where I can share myself and be myself.

Life of A Fallen Angel

Clarity through flight...

Born to Be

There is nothing greater outside of us than our one true love, BEING.

You've Been Hooked!

Observations from the trenches....

