Bullying

Definition of Bullying:

Bullying is intentional aggressive behaviour.
It can take the form of physical or verbal harassment involving an imbalance of power (a group of children can gang up on a victim or someone who is physically bigger or more aggressive can intimidate someone else).

Bullying can include teasing, insulting someone (particularly height, weight, religion, race, personal traits or sexuality).

Bullying can unlock a number of emotions in the victim.
They can feel embarrassed, ashamed, afraid, upset and anxious.

Bullying is a subject that has affected most people.
Whether you were bullied, your brother/sister were.
Your son/daughter were or even a friend.
Most of us have experienced bullying in one shape or form.

I’ve always been an outgoing and friendly person.
When I was a child I could have got myself in a lot of trouble.
Being the chatterbox that I am, I started talking to an elderly lady in a shop queue.
When I stopped chatting she responded and I said “I’m not allowed to talk to strangers”.
So, I’d partially understood what my mum had taught me.
The poor woman was beside herself and a little shocked she replied, “You started talking to me.”
My mum was so embarrassed.
Anyway, my point is anyone can be bullied.
It doesn’t matter how nice we are, how friendly, how rich.

It can happen to any of us?

Having suffered bullying, it does make me hope that my nieces and one day my children don’t suffer what I went through.

I can’t imagine how a parent feels worrying about their children during this time.

I was bullied twice, the first time was mere name calling.
For some reason my baby teeth didn’t want to go, some of them started to rot, so I had stud looking teeth.
After that it got worse the ones that didn’t rot just stayed there so I ended up with too many teeth in my mouth.
Before I was blessed by a brace I endured the shame of a school photo where I smiled with my mouth closed but a stray tooth was showing.
I’d begged my mum not to buy the horrible picture, but she’d said I’d want to look back on that moment when my smile was perfect.

I do remember the look on my mums face when I first described my trauma at the hands of Stacey.
I’d say I was small, but let’s face it I’m still small now.
Mum had always taught us to stand up for ourselves, but against kids much older than me, I just couldn’t do it.
Walking to school was like my own personal nightmare I knew the minute I got to the end of my street Stacey and her friends would be waiting.

The saddest thing for me is, I had always loved school.
The minute I went to nursery I adored it, I wanted nothing more than to make friends.
You shouldn’t have to psyche yourself up to walk to school, life shouldn’t be that way.

Stacey was terrifying for a primary school child like me.
Thinking of this now it seems extreme but mum bought me a pair of Dr Martens and a baseball bat to carry to school.
Did I ever use them for the intended purpose? No.
When the going got tough, I ran.
It got so bad that our headteacher would follow us to school a good few paces behind.

God only knows what went through my mums mind everyday I left for school.
I’d like to think karma got Stacey back, she died in a motorbike accident.
That for me was a sigh of relief, she’d never unexpectedly pop up in my home town.

I’m not a fan of Jodie Marsh but her show on bullying was an emotional watch for me.
I am thankful that as much as I will always remember those terrifying trips to school, I’m still here.
In watching that show, I saw the families that were left behind.
The trauma was just too much for some of them, that they took their own lives.
Then there’s the ones that are still haunted by their demons.

I would love to rid the world of bullying.
It would be a much nicer place for all of us.
Before you tease someone think about what your actions could do.

Tagged: ,

11 thoughts on “Bullying

  1. diaryofasoulsearcher March 24, 2012 at 12:24 pm Reply

    I never knew this 😦 I wish I had known you then but I would more than likely have been just as scared. I was bullied a little bit at school when I lived in London. It still affects my confidence even to this day 😦 but you have turned into a strong beautiful lil lady and I’m proud your my friend. Anybody who wishes to ‘bully’ you now needs to go through your wall of friends xx

    • hayleyslilworld March 24, 2012 at 12:38 pm Reply

      Thank You Sandy.
      I don’t always feel strong, this was a time of my life that I can proudly say I’ve moved on from but it will always be there.

      Thanks for reading and your kind words. X

  2. djmatticus September 5, 2013 at 3:07 pm Reply

    I would love to rid the world of bullying in all its forms too. Great post Hayley!

  3. […] another piece I wrote in the early stages of my WordPress […]

  4. El Guapo September 6, 2013 at 3:42 pm Reply

    Even with the trauma, you kept on going.

  5. ashadeofpen September 7, 2013 at 8:40 am Reply

    you are beautiful inside out.. you have got a lot of shine.. do not let meaningless words from useless people rob you of what you are.. i am glad to have met you here and i will always adore your company.. we might not know much of each other’s lives.. but i respect you and love you for being you πŸ™‚

    • hayleyslilworld September 7, 2013 at 10:21 am Reply

      Thanks you’re a good friend.

      • ashadeofpen September 7, 2013 at 10:26 am

        you are a wonderful person πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  6. […] One other thing I wish I could never fail at is getting rid of bullying. This is a topic that is close to my heart. Check out a few of my posts on this subjectCyber Bullying and Bullying […]

Leave a Reply

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Education's Voice

All in a day's work...

Dianne Gray author

Australian Author

Considerings

Life in Silver Linings

Sparkle Jam Beauty

Beauty, Mind, Body #expressyourself

Linda's Book Bag

Loving books and reading

Jenny in Neverland

"If you don't imagine, nothing ever happens at all".

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

I didn't have my glasses on....

A trip through life with fingers crossed and eternal optimism.

Dancing in the rain!

I hope you dance....

Randomly Abstract

Tread softly because you tread on my dreams.

Staying Tuesday

"This is my life. And I want you to know that I am both happy and sad and I'm still trying to figure out how that could be."

The Frank Diary of Anna

What to do with all these ideas, memories, and opinions that compete for presence in my conscience?

My Endless Rants & Ramblings

Just a place where I can share myself and be myself.

Life of A Fallen Angel

Clarity through flight...

Born to Be

There is nothing greater outside of us than our one true love, BEING.

You've Been Hooked!

Observations from the trenches....

