Film Review: Endless Love

Summary:

Endless Love is a contemporary variation on the Romeo and Juliet theme, starring Brooke Shields and Martin Hewitt.
It is a story of the power of love…the power of an emotion so strong, so forceful that it consumes and affects everyone around it. The film is about the many facets of love.
The love between husbands and wives, the love that exists between mothers and daughters and fathers, between fathers and sons. And the overwhelming sensual love of a boy and girl.
Endless Love is also notable for being the film debut, in a small role, of Tom Cruise.

Review:

Endless Love is a heartbreaking tale of young love at breaking point.
David is 17 and from a wealthy family who have conservative values.
Jade is 15 and from a close-knit family who are open on all issues including sex.

The differences between the two families, is for me the main comparison to Romeo and Juliet.
The difference between rich and poor.

David and Jade’s love story is intense, beautiful and in some parts a little on-edge and disturbing.
The story really gets going when Jade’s dad says they shouldn’t see each other for one month.

I’d have never known that this was Tom Cruise’s debut film.
I’m guessing most people think ‘Top Gun’ was his debut.
Sure that’s what made him.

‘Endless Love’ sees Tom in a very small (blink and you’ll miss him) part.
But on the plus side his character is quite funny and the stupid things he says sparks the start of David’s downfall.
So, in that case his character may well be a bit part, but he plays a huge role in what happens.

There are so many issues represented in this film, if I say anything specific it may ruin your viewing as you’ll know.
I think everyone should be slightly shocked and have their own view/opinion whilst watching this.
Some of the things that happen are a little weird and disturbing.

If I’m honest I’d probably have never watched this film if I wasn’t a Tom Cruise fan.
Yet, Tom is in the film for seconds and I still thoroughly enjoyed this contemporary romance.

If you’ve seen this film before let me know if you agree/disagree with my thoughts.
Or have I made you want to check out ‘Endless Love’?

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

746 Books

Confessions of a Book Buying Addict

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Education's Voice

All in a day's work...

Dianne Gray author

Australian Author

Considerings

Life in Silver Linings

Sparkle Jam Beauty

Beauty, Mind, Body #expressyourself

Linda's Book Bag

Loving books and reading

Jenny in Neverland

"If you don't imagine, nothing ever happens at all".

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

I didn't have my glasses on....

A trip through life with fingers crossed and eternal optimism.

Dancing in the rain!

I hope you dance....

Randomly Abstract

Tread softly because you tread on my dreams.

Staying Tuesday

"This is my life. And I want you to know that I am both happy and sad and I'm still trying to figure out how that could be."

The Frank Diary of Anna

What to do with all these ideas, memories, and opinions that compete for presence in my conscience?

My Endless Rants & Ramblings

Just a place where I can share myself and be myself.

Life of A Fallen Angel

Clarity through flight...

Born to Be

There is nothing greater outside of us than our one true love, BEING.

You've Been Hooked!

Observations from the trenches....

